MYSTcommunity: January Challenge Comments & Questions - MYSTcommunity

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

January Challenge Comments & Questions

#1 User is offline   J'ohn 

  • oglahnth (ancient one)
  • Group: Member
  • Posts: 10,928
  • Joined: 01-June 01
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Athens, Greece

Posted 16 January 2006 - 03:37 AM

Here is a mini-FAQ. :arianna:

Q: Can I use more than two characters?

A: You can use more than two characters, but two is the preferrable number.

~~~~~~~~~

Q: What do you mean by "pure dialogue"?

A: Here is an example:

Quote

"Have you walked the dog?"
"Yes, I just got back."
"What do you want to eat for tonight?"
"Whatever's in the fridge, I guess."


~~~~~~~~~

Q: What do you mean by "dialogue with minimal speech tags"?

A: Here is an example:

Quote

"Have you walked the dog?"
"Yes, I just got back," he replied.
"What do you want to eat for tonight?" she inquired.
"Whatever's in the fridge, I guess."


[Can we also use names in addition to pronouns? That's up to Cactus Wren, I suppose]

~~~~~~~~~

Q: Can I use script format? For example:

Quote

BARBARA: "Have you walked the dog?"
TONY: "Yes, I just got back."
BARBARA: "What do you want to eat for tonight?"
TONY: "Whatever's in the fridge, I guess."


A: No.

~~~~~~~~~

Q: Can I...

A: No.

~~~~~~~~~

Q: But...

A: No!

SBS ;)
0

#2 User is offline   Cactus Wren 

  • shokhootahn (instructor)
  • Group: Veteran Member
  • Posts: 951
  • Joined: 13-November 04
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:A day's drive west of the Cleft
  • KI number:01530661

Posted 16 January 2006 - 06:10 AM

J'ohn, on Jan 16 2006, 03:37 AM, said:

Here is a mini-FAQ. :arianna:

Q:Can I use more than two characters?

A: You can use more than two characters, but two is the preferrable number.
More specifically, two is the easiest number to maintain distinctive voices for.

J'ohn, on Jan 16 2006, 03:37 AM, said:

[Can we also use names in addition to pronouns? That's up to Cactus Wren, I suppose]

Yes. ;)
0

#3 User is offline   Zardoz 

  • shokhootahn (instructor)
  • Group: Moderator
  • Posts: 821
  • Joined: 02-June 01
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Planet Pluto, gosh darn it!!

Posted 26 February 2006 - 02:08 PM

Does it have to be set explicitly in a part of the game as played, or can it merely be set in the game's world, so to speak?

And cool, I've triggered the You've-bumped-an-old-thread warning!!
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users