MYSTcommunity: skipping exile - MYSTcommunity

Page 1 of 1

skipping exile

#1 User is offline   rabcarl 

• choortahn (learner)
  • Group: Member

Posted 30 May 2008 - 12:20 PM

Would I be missing anything storywise if I skipped exile and went straight to playing Revelation? I think I know the basics of what happens in exile anyways because I started playing it a long time ago, but I never finished it, and now sadly I don't own it anymore.

#2 User is offline   Talashar 

• oglahneth (ancient one)
  • Group: Team Member
  • KI number:00183867

Posted 30 May 2008 - 12:32 PM

Exile's basically a side trip from the main story. I don't think skipping it would affect enjoyment of the following games.

#3 User is offline   Lostthyme 

• Quab Wrangler
  • KI number:00280695

Posted 30 May 2008 - 01:07 PM

No, it really wouldn't make any difference. You learn more about how depraved and insane Sirrus and Achenar were, and you meet Yeesha, Atrus and Catherine's new daughter, but that's about it. Knowing how insane the brothers were helps you understand them a little better in Revelation though. The first Myst game I ever played was Revelation, and having no previous knowledge didn't affect me much. The storyline of Exile wasn't even written by the people who wrote Myst.

#4 User is offline   Sonic_light 

• glotahn (beginner)

Posted 30 May 2008 - 03:44 PM

View Postahrotahntee5, on May 30 2008, 12:07 PM, said:

The storyline of Exile wasn't even written by the people who wrote Myst.

Neither was Revelation.

#5 User is offline   Mystress 

• "Crazy" is a relative term...
  • Group: Veteran Member
  • KI number:01792588

Posted 31 May 2008 - 04:17 PM

You also learn a bit about Releeshahn, which comes into play in Myst V - which is even *more* of a side trip than Exile. :saavy:

#6 User is offline   Talashar 

Posted 04 June 2008 - 05:50 AM

View PostMystress, on May 31 2008, 05:17 PM, said: