MYSTcommunity: How to install Quicktime 6.3? - MYSTcommunity

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1

How to install Quicktime 6.3?

#1 User is offline   penguindude 

  • choortahn (learner)
  • Group: Member
  • Posts: 77
  • Joined: 16-November 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Fiene

Posted 27 May 2009 - 02:35 PM

I realized the moment I loaded the disc into the computer that the Myst game would not work. I know I need to install quicktime 6.3, and I have tried to speculate how I might do that, but I admit that such conjecture is futile.

So. When advice on how to get this old version of quicktime installed. The "Install Quicktime 6.3" button on the menu didn't work.
0

#2 User is offline   realXCV 

  • glotahn (beginner)
  • Group: Veteran Member
  • Posts: 335
  • Joined: 03-January 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somewhere on this planet

Posted 27 May 2009 - 07:34 PM

Do you have any QuickTime version already installed?
If yes and that version is newer then why do you need to install an older version while you could simply extract the Quicktime.qts file from the quicktime installer, put it in your myst folder and simply play the game?

Or you can also try by running directly the installer .exe.
0

#3 User is offline   penguindude 

  • choortahn (learner)
  • Group: Member
  • Posts: 77
  • Joined: 16-November 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Fiene

Posted 28 May 2009 - 04:14 PM

View PostrealXCV, on May 27 2009, 09:34 PM, said:

Do you have any QuickTime version already installed?
If yes and that version is newer then why do you need to install an older version while you could simply extract the Quicktime.qts file from the quicktime installer, put it in your myst folder and simply play the game?

Or you can also try by running directly the installer .exe.


Myst doesn't work on the newer version.
0

#4 User is offline   realXCV 

  • glotahn (beginner)
  • Group: Veteran Member
  • Posts: 335
  • Joined: 03-January 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somewhere on this planet

Posted 28 May 2009 - 09:03 PM

I know.

Line 2 still apply.
0

#5 User is offline   penguindude 

  • choortahn (learner)
  • Group: Member
  • Posts: 77
  • Joined: 16-November 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Fiene

Posted 29 May 2009 - 01:36 PM

Ok, can you tell me exactly where to go and what to do? I don't understand where to find the quicktime.qts file.
0

#6 User is offline   realXCV 

  • glotahn (beginner)
  • Group: Veteran Member
  • Posts: 335
  • Joined: 03-January 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somewhere on this planet

Posted 29 May 2009 - 03:42 PM

1. Copy the folder with the Quicktime installer to your hard disk.
2. Download and install Universal Extractor
3. Right click on the QuickTimeInstaller.exe file and choose "Uniextract to Subdir".
4. Open the "QuickTimeInstaller" folder (not the .exe)
5. Open the "Main" folder.
6. Find the file named "QuickTime.qts"
7. Copy it.
8. Go to the myst folder. (Can change depending on which version of Myst you have)
9. Paste the file of the step 6 that you copied at step 7.
10. You can now delete the QuickTime installation folder.
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1


Fast Reply

  

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users