MYSTcommunity: Drawn to the Desert - MYSTcommunity

Page 1 of 1

Drawn to the Desert An Uru Account

#1 User is offline   ArchitectofAges 

• rov nee (new person)
  • Group: Member

Posted 20 December 2010 - 10:10 PM

It was August 21st. All my valuable possessions were wedged tightly in the back of an old CR-V, with only a small space at the top glowing brightly in the rearview mirror. I was making good time on my way from California to New York, where my girlfriend had recently gotten into med school. It wasn't the quickest or most efficient way of moving, but I liked the car, I liked driving it, and I didn't like the idea of entrusting my books to either movers or FedEx.

I took another swig from the water bottle and tapped my GPS to check some stats on my progress. (As an engineer, I like playing games with numbers, and a GPS is full of them.) The average speed it reported was about 20 MPH over the speed limit, but highway patrol didn't make it this far out into the desert. I'd already been driving for two days straight, and my generally cautious attitude had eroded after the first 8-hour leg where I hadn't seen one other soul on the road.

The scenery was similarly sparse. New Mexico was vast, barren scrubland, occasionally interrupted with an upthrusting of rocky sandstone towers to put on misleading postcards. Although I wasn't tired, the lack of any sort of visual stimulus made my eyelids fight drowsiness. Leaning over in my seat, I thrust an arm into the pile of belongings and travel amenities on the passenger's side of the car, searching for a bag of junk food to munch on and keep myself awake. When my fingers brushed something that crinkled, I took my eyes off the road for a moment to eye the bag of Fritos.

That was as far as I got.