MYSTcommunity: My Myst Book Project - MYSTcommunity

• 2 Pages +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

My Myst Book Project A digital version of a notebook from experiencing the games

#1 User is offline   SandmanNet 

• rov nee (new person)
  • Group: Member

Posted 10 January 2011 - 05:16 AM

Hello guys, I'm a new member here and this will be my first thread. I just wanted to show off my Myst Book project which I've been working on off and on since 2006. It's supposed to be a note book that the Stranger writes as he is solving the puzzles of his mission in these worlds. The first book (Myst) is done (as in, the story is all there, but I'll probably continue to work on the maps and illustrations when I feel like I can improve them) and I am currently working on the Riven book.

There is a ton of illustrations and sketches in the books, but the main thing is the maps of course. I've always felt that there aren't any good Myst maps out there so I set out to make some. I'm not saying mine are a whole lot better but I am constantly trying to improve my "style" and make them better.

Talking about Riven, I just recently finished the Temple Island map for Riven and you can see the result in the Riven book in the link below. I am currently hard at work (when there is time) to finish the Jungle Island map. I'll attach an image of what it looks like right now, but it's a work in progress so don't judge it just yet :P

If it's ok by you guys, I could continue posting about the progress of this project in this forum. I'm also posting about my progress in a cartography forum for pointers and help but they aren't as entrenched into the Myst world as I'm assuming you guys are so I'd expect any feedback I'd might get here would be useful from a Myst perspective.

And don't be afraid of giving critique, I can take it.