MYSTcommunity: Myst in virtual machine, on my TV - MYSTcommunity

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1

Myst in virtual machine, on my TV

#1 User is offline   Bastiko Pradhana 

  • claims not to be Pikachu
  • Group: Team Member
  • Posts: 3,147
  • Joined: 09-April 02
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:In a flat, city, state, island, or an Age

Posted 07 December 2012 - 10:26 PM

Hi guys.

For some time now I have been running the original Myst inside a Windows 95 VM, and it has worked beautifully. I don't need to clutter my XP system in doing so.

A screenshot if you are interested. And just for kicks, I connected my TV as a second monitor and put the VM over there.

Now to try out Riven next... ;)
0

#2 User is offline   Johnraka 

  • Rivenworld Creator
  • Group: Veteran Member
  • Posts: 926
  • Joined: 29-August 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kalazire & London, England

Posted 08 December 2012 - 05:03 PM

View PostBastiko Pradhana, on 07 December 2012 - 10:26 PM, said:

Hi guys.

For some time now I have been running the original Myst inside a Windows 95 VM, and it has worked beautifully. I don't need to clutter my XP system in doing so.

A screenshot if you are interested. And just for kicks, I connected my TV as a second monitor and put the VM over there.

Now to try out Riven next... ;)


Running Riven on a VM, now that would interest me especially as I am having issues even with the GOG version (cannot save or load a game as it crashes).
Not sure how to set up a VM either but if it works then I can always learn...
0

#3 User is offline   aander91 

  • Forum game like its 2008
  • Group: Veteran Member
  • Posts: 2,669
  • Joined: 20-January 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Realm of Eternal Ice
  • KI number:00087015

Posted 08 December 2012 - 10:24 PM

Is this the windows provided VM? Also, nice to see you back. :)
0

#4 User is offline   Bastiko Pradhana 

  • claims not to be Pikachu
  • Group: Team Member
  • Posts: 3,147
  • Joined: 09-April 02
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:In a flat, city, state, island, or an Age

Posted 09 December 2012 - 12:23 AM

View Postaander91, on 08 December 2012 - 10:24 PM, said:

Is this the windows provided VM? Also, nice to see you back. :)


I use Microsoft Virtual PC 2004 to set up a Windows 95 machine on my Windows XP system. I don't know how compatible is Virtual PC 2004 or 2007 if you have Windows 7 or 8; I want to test but I don't have either...
0

#5 User is offline   Johnraka 

  • Rivenworld Creator
  • Group: Veteran Member
  • Posts: 926
  • Joined: 29-August 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kalazire & London, England

Posted 09 January 2013 - 10:10 AM

View PostJohnraka, on 08 December 2012 - 05:03 PM, said:

View PostBastiko Pradhana, on 07 December 2012 - 10:26 PM, said:

Hi guys.

For some time now I have been running the original Myst inside a Windows 95 VM, and it has worked beautifully. I don't need to clutter my XP system in doing so.

A screenshot if you are interested. And just for kicks, I connected my TV as a second monitor and put the VM over there.

Now to try out Riven next... ;)


Running Riven on a VM, now that would interest me especially as I am having issues even with the GOG version (cannot save or load a game as it crashes).
Not sure how to set up a VM either but if it works then I can always learn...


Setting up Virtual PC 2007 is a breeze, once installed just use the wizard to define the size of hard drive, name the virtual PC then open it, you should see a DOS prompt, from there you can cold install a new OS as if it were a new machine - anything you install there does not affect your existing OS or files as it operates in its own space.
Virtual PC earmarks about 65Gig of HD space, it doesn't use all of that but it does reserve it for its own use but you can deifne the virtual hard disk size during the wizard setup.
It uses a Trio S3 video driver irrespective of what you have installed and sound is a bit scratchy but it works.

Good luck.
0

#6 User is offline   Veovis17 

  • choortahn (learner)
  • Group: Member
  • Posts: 84
  • Joined: 09-January 13
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ederat

Posted 17 January 2013 - 03:27 PM

This sounds... Immersive.... I have pretty huge Tv, so if only I could hook my pc
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1


Fast Reply

  

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users