MYSTcommunity: AU: Myst's ultimate villain (Fanfic pitch) - MYSTcommunity

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

AU: Myst's ultimate villain (Fanfic pitch) A first foray into Myst fanfiction and a Uru non-canonists compromise

#1 User is offline   Lesley 

• choortahn (learner)
  • Group: Member
  • Location:Where the sky meets the sea, and all things are made possible

Posted 29 December 2014 - 07:35 AM

Wow, I'm shaking right now. I have twelve years experience as an original fiction writer but writing for a new fandom always makes me rattled, because I want it to be so good. And reading all of the other threads on this forum just kills my enthusiasm. Everyone elses' ideas are just that good, and make mine feel stupid. I'm just going to have to having a similar breakthrough from my usual social anxiety that allowed me to sign up for this forum in the first place...but enough with my silly stream of consciousnesses! There is a fanfic pitch to be made, even if it doesn't earn good critical reception!

I may have quietly voiced it by now, but I'm more then a little bit of a nay-sayer when it comes to Uru and End of Ages. Maybe that's a little bit unfair, because I haven't actually played them, but to be honest I don't want to. I don't hate them exactly, but I also don't really like what I've read as far as the story goes, and the changes in gameplay leaves the games themselves utterly uninteresting to me. My first, primal instinct as a fanfic author would be simply to go back and continue writing the story as if EoA never happened and Uru doesn't count, ala wish fulfillment.

Which is exactly what I mean to do. Kind of.